Young Researcher Awards


For recognizing the outstanding contributions made by young researchers on materials science, IUMRS and MRS-Singapore jointly instituted the “IUMRS – MRS Singapore Young Researcher Award” in 2012.

The award package consists of S$5,000 (Singapore dollars five thousand) cash prize, a presentation trophy, and a certificate.

Nomination / Application & Selection

The rationale for selection of the winners is interdisciplinary and innovative research demonstrating high level of excellence and distinction contributing to the development and fundamental understanding of the concerned topic.

Those who wish to be considered for the “IUMRS – MRS Singapore Young Researcher Award” must submit their nomination to the Award Subcommittee Chair, at awards@mrs.org.sg. Peer- and organizational- nominations are also welcome subject to the nominee agreeing for the terms and conditions of the award. The submitted nomination package must provide the following:

  • Curriculum Vitae (2-pages maximum) including evidence for the date of birth
  • List of recent key publications (2-pages maximum)
  • Summary of achievements, awards and honors (1-page maximum)
  • Name and brief credentials of the three distinguished materials scientists whom nominee has contacted to provide confidential support letters highlighting the creativity of the nominee and the impact his or her research work has created. These letters must be sent by the supporters directly to Award Subcommittee Chair at awards@mrs.org.sg for the nomination to be considered.

The decision of the award subcommittee is final and no enquires will be entertained.

Prize Presentation

The IUMRS – MRS Singapore Young Researcher Award is presented at the International Conference of Young Researchers on Advanced Materials (ICYRAM). The recipient of the award must be personally present at the IUMRS-ICYRAM and give an award lecture. No travel grant is provided by the conference organizers. However, accommodation at one of the modest conference hotels for the conference duration and a waiver of the registration fee is provided.

List of Past IUMRS - MRS-S Young Researcher Award Recipients

The 2018 IUMRS – MRS-S Young Researcher Award held at Adelaide, Australia, attracted 35 nominations from 31 different institutes representing 9 countries – Australia, Singapore, China, USA, Switzerland, Germany, Brazil, India & Thailand. The winner was Prof. Andrea Alù from the City University of New York, USA. The following four others are recognized as finalists: James Analytics from UC Berkeley, USA; Laura Na Liu from the University of Heidelberg, Germany; Philip Moll from EPFL, Switzerland and Huiying Yang from Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore. The 2020 IUMRS – MRS-S Young Researcher Award has been postponed due to Covid-19.
There were four winners of the 2016 IUMRS – MRS-S Young Researcher Awards. They are Tony Low of University of Minnesota, Yanwu Zhu of University of Science and Technology of China, Shirley Meng of University of California San Diego, Kanishaka Biswas of INCASR, India. Yanwu Zhu and Kanishka Biswas received their prizes at the thrid IUMRS – ICYRAM conference held from 11 to 15 December 2016 in Bangalore, India (see photo). Shirly Meng and Tony Low were unable to attend the ICYRAM conference and were presented their prizes subsequently at other IUMRS events.
View Photo:
Awards YRA 2016
The second IUMRS- MRS-S Young Research Award attracted 48 nominations from different countries. Prof. Ali Khademhosseini from the Harvard Medical School, USA won the award. Prof. Ariando, National University of Singapore Singapore; Prof. Sergio Brovelli University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy; Prof. Yi Cui, Stanford University, USA, Prof. Jiaxing Huang, Northwestern University, USA, Prof. Ajayan Vinu,The University of Queensland, Australia and Prof. Xun Wang, Tsinghua University, China are among the finalists. The prize was presented at the second IUMRS-ICRYAM held in Haikou, China in 2014.
View Photo:
Prof. Ali Khademhosseini

View Photo:
Awards YRA 2014
The very first IUMRS – MRS-S Young Researcher Award went to Prof. Xiangfeng Duan from the University of California Los Angeles. The award was presented at the inaugural ICYRAM conference held in Singapore in 2012. The event also constituted the inaugural meeting of the Global Materials Network (GMN).
View Photo:
Prof. Xiangfeng Duan

View Photo:
Awards YRA 2012