IUMRS Global Leadership
& Service Award


The IUMRS Global Leadership & Service Award is to honour individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership through service, having measurable impact to the global community, relating to materials connected research and education, serving multi and interdisciplinary fields. The target is not to award a scientist or a research work but personalities that due to their efforts all research and academics do benefit from it. Typically, it is a high-ranking personality or a public servant responsible to define science and technology policies.

This award is aligned with the global IUMRS philosophy concerning Science and Technology, the motivations are connected to the science and technology responsibility, mainly connected to the challenges of the future. Each award is typically given for no more than two outstanding personalities, from different continents, together with someone noticeable by his career connected to materials science and technology as an enabler.

The award is by nomination only. The nomination committee may consist of all presidents of IUMRS adherent bodies, the past awardees; other key personalities, coming from the Academy and other noticeable science and technology associations, worldwide, cordially invited by the award committee up to four months in advance of the award ceremony lead by the chair of the IUMRS award committee and the chair of the subcommittee and Global Leadership & Service Award.

The prize comprises a gold medal. It is typically presented at a specially arranged award ceremony which is attended by high ranking personnel such as ministers, members of parliament, members of academy of sciences, etc.

All past winners of the IUMRS Global Leadership & Service Award made significant impacts to the society. The following is a list of past recipients of the IUMRS Global Leadership & Service Award.

List of Past Winners of the IUMRS Global Leadership & Service Award

2019 (Third)
The third IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Award was presented to Doctor Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, the architecture of the EC Horizon Europe program from which all the Academics and scientific community will globally benefit; and Professor Robert Chang, the first President and founder of IUMRS and the great globally promoter of material as enabler and tool of the Missions for the future, for their distinguished leadership and service to the international community in the field of Innovation in Science and Technology for a better life of humankind in alignment with the internationalization of science and the convergence of fields in research and education. The award ceremony was held on 30th May 2019 in Nice, France, at the Congress & Exhibition Centre Acropolis during the 37th Spring Conference of the European Materials Research Society and the IUMRS International Conference on Advanced Materials (IUMRS-ICAM).
2016 (Second)
The second IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Award was awarded to Wan Gang, the Chinese Minister of Science and Technology, who established the New Energy Automobile Engineering Centre and participated in the promotion of science and technology between China and the rest of the world; Graça Carvalho, a former minister of science in Portugal, and former co-president of the Industry , Research and Energy Committee (ITRE) at the European Parliament; and Sukekatsu Ushioda, former president of the National Institute of Materials Science (NIMS) and head of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) of Japan. The award presentation ceremony was held at the European Parliament in Brussels on 16th November 2016. Paul Rübig, Chair of the Science and Technology Options Assessment (STOA) panel, José Inácio Faria, MP and Chair of EU Environment committee, and Carlos Zorrinho vice President of ITRE committee, presented the awards to the winners.
2015 (First)
The inaugural IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Award was awarded to Dr. Mihail Roco, Mr. Christos Tokamanis, and Dr. Paul Siffert at a ceremony held on Feb. 23, 2015, in Brussels, Belgium. Professor Doctor Mihail Roco is the founding Chair of the National Science and Technology Council’s subcommittee on Nanoscale Science, Engineering and Technology of USA National Science Foundation. He is recognized for his extra-ordinary services in the area of Nanotechnology with significant impact in the USA and around the world. Mr. Christos Tokamanis is head of Unit “Advanced Materials and Nano Technologies” – Directorate “Key Enabling Technologies, Research & Innovation”, European Commission. He received the award for his outstanding services to the European Union community in supporting an effective and efficient nanotechnology policy integrating the needs of innovation with societal impact and responsible governance. Professor Doctor Paul Siffert is the founder and First President of the “European Materials Research, Society” (E-MRS); General Secretary of the “European Materials Forum” (EMF) and the “European Materials Research Society” (E-MRS) Czochralski Gold Medal recipient. He is honoured for his 30 years of dedicated services to European and Global Materials Community.